Edtech 597: Poll Post

According to an article posted in The Chronicle of  Higher Education, enrollment in onlince college courses increased over 21 percent in 2010. According to the article, there were over 5.6 million students taking online courses in the fall of 2009.. The U.S. News reports that there were over 6.1 million students taking online classes in the fall of 2010. It seems that the number of students taking online courses is getting larger each year.  The authors feel that the reason for this drastic increase is due to the fact that more colleges are offering online courses. I think that most colleges have come to the realization that if they want to grow, they must be part of the online sector. The reputation of the quality of online classes has also continued to climb. According to a report in the U.S. News, most academic professionals rate the quality as being the same, or superior, to face to face instruction. What about the students? There are certain criteria that are important to students taking online course. Most students taking online classess are adults with multiple responsibilities. College courses can be pretty daunting. The poll on this page was created to ascertain student opinions on several criteria concerning online classes. Please take a moment to answer the questions in this poll. All answers will be kept anonymous. Thank you for taking the time to participate in the poll.

11 thoughts on “Edtech 597: Poll Post

  1. I graduated with my BA in 2008, and started the EDTECH program last year. I must say that I find the online program offered by BSU to be far superior to the face-to-face classes that I took for my undergrad. I feel like we are a learning community–peers, not competitors. Also, I find that these classes are immediately applicable to what I am doing in my professional life. I am excited to learn, and that speaks to the school, the program, and the method of delivery (I love being able to work at my own pace within the online environment).

  2. Nice post. It seems to me that many of us like to work at out own pace. More that that, I like to work at my own time. My school is VERY demanding and when you add in grad school, a wife and two young children you see why I am usually working on my online classes between the hours of 8 pm and 3 am. It just what life requires. I can imagine trying to fit my education in, given the constraints of my life, in a traditional setting.

    • I also like working at my own pace. I wish more of the professors would open up at least 2 modules at a time. This would help me to better organize my time.

    • I agree. I think the best thing about an online class is learning on my own time whether it be at 2 pm on a Tuesday, 3 am on a Thursday or at 6 pm on a Sunday. I have a very similar schedule to you. A VERY demanding school, grad school, a husband, and two children who seem to do every activity that a child has ever done! Of course, I am the one to bring them since my husband doesn’t get home until 6:45 or so. There is no way I could have done this without the distance option.

  3. It was difficult to choose between working at my own pace and learning new and relevant information (which I selected). I have a very full schedule, as I am sure most of us do, and it would be impossible for me to even take classes if I didn’t have flexibility in when I worked. I agree that I wish more professors would open the courses up so we could review assignments ahead of time. As an online course designer, I provide the entire course up front as with this one.

  4. I am not in the program– but I enjoy the flexibility and friendly profs. Every online course I’ve taken has been great, in that I’ve been able to work at my own pace and enjoy friendly feedback from knowledgeable teachers.

  5. Just like Rebecca, I had difficulty choosing between working at my own pace and learning relevant information. Also like Rebecca, I chose the latter. I really do like being able to work at the times when I can squeeze it in to my schedule. But if the material is not engaging and relevant, then I am incredibly unmotivated to do the work, no matter the timing.

  6. My vote matched the majority. I really like being able to work at my own pace. The other things are also important, but that is my main draw to online learning.

Leave a Reply

