Edtech 597: Image Post

 

 Back To School

Well, it’s about that time again. Time to go back to school. I have had a very busy summer. I have been taking three graduate classes, vacationing with my family, and trying to catch up on projects at home. This summer has flown by! I am always a little aprehensive about the first day of school. Will I be ready? What will my new students be like? What will their parents be like? I am sure that my students have some of the same apprehensions.

I love the image that I chose for my post. Most days I feel like hiding under my covers. With all of the budget cuts, it seems that the work and responsibilites are never ending. Teachers have to wear many hats these days. I miss the days when teachers had one hour lunches and paraprofessionals. Everytime that I walk into our teacher’s lounge I am reminded of the days when teachers would sit in the lounge and take smoke breaks. I laugh to myself whenever I think about it. I also remember when the only phone in the building was in the office and there were no computers. Times have surely changed. The one thing that hasn’t changed is the feeling that I get on the first day of school. It is a mixture of dread, and excitement. It is so bittersweet.  I am looking forward to meeting my new little angels. Hopefully, this will be a great year!

7 thoughts on “Edtech 597: Image Post

  1. I like the image, I have never seen that before. School has changed, and a lot more is expected of teachers. I do believe however, that it has been to the benefit of the students.

  2. My feelings for the first day of school are apprehension, pressure, and excitement. I am nervous about the upcoming year and the challenges that I will ultimately have to face (I always ask myself, “What will it be this year?). I feel pressure to start things off the way I want them to–the first day of school sets the tone for the year, and I want to make sure that the right tone is heard by my students. Yet, these negative emotions are always outweighed by the genuine excitement I have for something fresh. New students! New possibilities! New field trips! New school supplies! I love my job, but you are right, the first day of school is indeed bittersweet.

  3. I always get so excited about the first day of school! I normally don’t worry a bit. Maybe I am naive? Haha! I get excited when I think about all of the new things I can teach. Normally, by Thanksgiving I start needing a vacation away from it all. That is why we always go into the mountains in North Carolina at that time. Ha!

  4. I love that picture! I love the beginning of the school year. I remember when I was a child we lived across the street from our elementary school. I remember at the end of the summer when I would be playing at the school I would stand by the doors and it just smelt like school! Is that strange that school has a smell to me?

Leave a Reply

